top of page
Writer's pictureTania Meza

The United States of America (part 1)

Updated: Nov 1, 2022

With my family we have had the opportunity to visit the United States on many occasions. One of the things we are asked about the most is what America is like. They mainly ask us if it is truly that violent, and if it is like the movies. Whenever I get asked those questions, I think immediately of the first time my family and I visited the USA.


My friend and I at our first Jonas Brothers concert.

My dad took us to Las Vegas, Nevada. I remember that I was so excited, because for me it was literally a dream come true to visit the United States. I was obsessed with the country because of the Jonas Brothers (Yeah, really). I kid you not, I cried when we first arrived at the airport in Atlanta.




After a 7 hours long layover in the Atlanta airport, in which we found an area where we could sleep on the floor, we finally were on our way to our final destination. The plane lands in Las Vegas and I’m buzzing with excitement as I had recently watched a movie starring Cameron Diaz that took place in the city. Being only 11 years old, I felt like the coolest person alive.


We were on our way to get our luggage, when the first billboard hit us. It's an ad to rent -I kid you not- tanks. Literal military tanks. In the airport.

*I didn't take this picture, but you get the idea.

My young mind could not process what it had just seen. I was shocked. Like, how was it possible that you could advertise -in the airport- the use of military tanks??? I thought that it couldn’t get any crazier, but just as I had wrapped my head around the idea that people could literally buy freaking tanks, I saw the gambling coin machines, everywhere inside the airport.


I think that Las Vegas is a particularly crazy city, and the chaos in the airport set the tone for the whole trip and opened my eyes to the pace of the country.

Would you like me to tell you a little bit more about my experience in Las Vegas or about other trips we have had to the United States? Leave a comment down in the comment section!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page